Posted by on Apr 02, 2016 in Yale Events

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 04/02/2016
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Coolidge Auditorium


You are invited to a performance of APPALACHIAN SPRING by the Martha Graham Dance Company, conducted by our very own Aaron Sherber (Pierson ’89). Aaron has been the music director of the Graham Company since 1998, and he will provide a special pre-concert talk at 1:00pm for YAAM members.

This FREE concert is part of the 2015-16 Library of Congress Concert Series.  This is a sold out event, but a block of 24 tickets (not available to the public) have been secured specifically for YAAM members and their guests.  Please contact Aaron Sherber for ticket requests (

In addition to Appalachian Spring, which was commissioned by and premiered at the Library in 1944 (with music by Aaron Copland), the performance includes two other Graham ballets which were also commissioned by the Library: Cave of the Heart (music by Samuel Barber) and Dark Meadow (music by Carlos Chávez).

Paying tribute to this legacy is a new Library of Congress commission by Swedish choreographer Pontus Lidberg, set to music by Irving Fine. Co-commissioned by the Verna and Irving Fine Fund in the Library of Congress and the Martha Graham Dance Company, this work receives its world premiere performance on April 1, with two performances following on April 2.


Comments are closed.